Nomination Criteria

Automatic nomination:

  1. Gatorade Player of the Year

  2. Top-three all-classification 5,000m time

  3. Repeat state champion

  4. A 5,000m time that ranks in the top-50 among U.S. high school runners

Consideration (must meet at least one criterion):

  1. First-place finish at the OSAA Cross Country State Championships

  2. Participation in one of the following meets: Nike Border Clash, NXR Northwest Regional Championships, Nike Cross Nationals

  3. Fastest OSAA classification 5,000m time

  4. District champion

At-large nominations:

  1. An athlete may be nominated by a member of the Oregon Sports Awards voting panel

  2. An athlete may be nominated by a coach, sports information director or athletic director. Nominations must be submitted to the Oregon Sports Awards team

2020 nomination deadline: November 9


Past Winners

2017-18 Winners - Andrew Monroe, Crater // Kelly Makin, Sunset
2016-17 Winners - Ahmed Muhumed, West Salem // Ember Stratton, Sunset
2015-16 Winners - Ahmed Muhumed, West Salem // Ella Donaghu, Grant
2014 Winners - Matthew Matton, Summit // Ella Donaghu, Grant
2013 Winners - Matthew Matton, Summit // Ella Donaghu, Grant
2012 Winners - Travis Neuman, Summit // Sara Tsai, South Eugene


2017-18 Finalists (alphabetized by last name)




Andrew Monroe, Crater
Joshua Schumacher, Jesuit
Alex Slenning, Wilson


Lucy Huelskamp, Sunset
Kelly Makin, Sunset
Makenna Shumacher, Jesuit