Holland W.jpg

 For immediate release: 

PORTLAND, Oregon (July 22, 2019) -- Ashland High senior-to-be Evan “EJ” Holland never lost while racing for the Grizzlies last fall. 

So naturally, Holland added yet another cross country-related win to his belt in the form of the 2019 Prep Boys X-Country Runner of the Year Award. The Oregon Sports Awards’ voting panel chose Holland over finalists Ethan Reese (Sunset) and Tim Stevens (Cove). 

Holland, also the Gatorade Oregon Cross Country Player of the Year, called into NBC Sports Northwest’s The Noe Show” with Brian Noe on Monday from Ashland to accept his award. Click here to listen to clips of Holland’s interview. 

Future single-sport prep award announcements can also be heard live on KJOR Rip City Radio 620. 

Sport Oregon, which manages the Oregon Sports Awards, and NBC Sports Northwest have partnered to announce the 2019 Oregon Sports Awards on live television form July 8-31. 

Holland put himself on the radar of coaches and colleges from across the country this fall. Not only was Holland undefeated in Oregon Schools Activities Association (OSAA) competitions, he ran the 24th-fastest 5,000m time in the country among United States high school boys. 

Holland clocked in 14:53:00 at the Warner Pacific XC Classic in October, which was also the fastest all-classification 5,000m time ran in Oregon last season.  

He finished in under 15 minutes in three races for the Grizzlies. Holland captured the Midwestern League District Meet and 5A Cross Country Championship titles. 

Holland’s season continued in impressive fashion following the state meet. He placed first at the NXR Northwest Regional Championships and Nike Border Clash in November, then took 16th place at Nike Cross Nationals in December with a time of 15:17.60. 

He was also a finalist for the Prep Track and Field Athlete of the Year and Johnny Carpenter 6A/5A Prep Boys Athlete of the Year awards. He set 5A Boys Track and Field State Championship records in the 1500m (3:51.92) and 3000m (8:13.10) in May. 

Holland posted a personal record of 3:50.42 in the 1500m at the MWL Championships in May and ranks fourth nationally in the event. His 3,000m time set at the state meet ranks third in the country as well. 

Sport Oregon and NBC Sports Northwest will reveal the Prep Girls X-Country Runner of the Year on either July 25 or July 31 on “The Noe Show.” 

Award criteria and past winners

2019 Oregon Sports Awards sponsors

Presenting sponsor: HP

State Champion Sponsors: NBC Sports Northwest Nike Pamplin Media Group Portland Thorns Portland Timbers Portland Trail Blazers Providence Heath and Services Washington Trust Bank

About Sport Oregon

Sport Oregon’s mission is to drive economic growth and enhance Oregon’s quality of life through sports.  Our non-profit organization has served as the state’s sports economic development arm for more than two decades, injecting more than $350 million into Oregon’s economy through sports tourism.

Supported by more than 150 annual members, Sport Oregon works relentlessly to enhance the state’s economy and quality of life by attracting sports events and franchises.  Sport Oregon’s major achievements include securing the NCAA Basketball Tournament, Davis Cup World Final, multiple U.S. Figure Skating Championships, Women’s World Cup Soccer and the Dew Tour.  Sport Oregon was recognized as “Sports Commission of the Year” in 2010 by the National Association of Sports Commissions.  View a complete list of Past Events and Future Events.

Learn more about opportunities to become involved with Sport Oregon by becoming a membervolunteering or joining Sport Oregon’s Young Professionals Board.

Follow along and stay in touch

1888 SW Madison Street 
Portland, OR 97205 

Twitter: @ORSportsAwards 



Brady Johnson 

Sport Oregon 

P: 503-313-5129 

E: braden@sportoregon.org