Nomination Criteria

Automatic nomination:

  1. Gatorade Player of the Year or USA Today All-USA Oregon Player of the Year

  2. McDonald’s or Parade All-American

  3. Repeat OSAA classification Player of the Year, as voted on by coaches

Consideration (must meet at least one criterion):

  1. OSAA classification player of the year, as voted on by coaches

  2. Unanimous OSAA State Championship all-tournament team selection

  3. Recognition for participation on a national or elite club team or competition (i.e. USA Basketball, Junior Olympics, Nike Hoop Summit, Northwest Shootout)

  4. All-state first team selection, as voted on by the coaches

  5. District Player of the Year

At-large nominations:

  1. An athlete may be nominated by a member of the Oregon Sports Awards voting panel

  2. An athlete may be nominated by a coach, sports information director or athletic director. Nominations must be submitted to the Oregon Sports Awards team

2020 nomination deadline: March 23

Past Winners

2018-2019: Aaron Deloney, Grant // Cameron Brink, Southridge 2017-2018: Marcus Tsohonis, Jefferson // Cameron Brink, Southridge
2016-2017: Elijah Gonzales, Clackamas // Evina Westbrook, South Salem
2015-2016: Payton Pritchard, West Linn // Evina Westbrook, South Salem
2014-2015: Payton Pritchard, West Linn // Katie McWilliams, South Salem
2013-2014: Silas Melson, Jefferson // Jamie Nared, Westview
2012-2013: Calvin Hermanson, Lake Oswego // Mercedes Russell, Springfield
2010-2011: Calvin Hermanson, Lake Oswego // Mercedes Russell, Springfield 

2018-2019 Finalists (alphabetized by last name) 

Cameron Brink, Southridge
Ciera Ellington, Benson Polytechnic
Aspen Slifka, Banks

Aaron Deloney, Grant
Jack Roche, Wilsonville
Marcus Tsohonis, Jefferson